CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » River Fishing
Viewing Topic: Looking for help: New to CT river & boat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Asterus

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Looking for help: New to CT river & boat Reply with quote

Hey everyone, I'm new to the CT river and just bought a pontoon boat which I keep in Portland. I have traditionally been a river fisherman for trout. Do you have any recommendations on where to go on the CT river near my marina to find fish, and what kind of bait & tackle to use this time of year?

I also have a new fisherwoman who is getting frustrated with the sport because we have gone out fishing about 10 times and she hasn't caught anything at all.
PECo

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congrats on the new boat.

You need to put that fisherwoman on some fish! The Portland area can be tough. Pecausett Pond (aka Wright's Cove) or the area around and in the mouth of the Mattabesset River are fairly reliable locations to find some fish. How big is the boat, anyway? Show her how to drop shot a Roboworm or 2-1/2 to three inch Gulp! Minnow, or wacky rig a five inch Senko, and she'll start catching fish.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info. I have always been weary of going near the Matabassett River mouth because it gets real shallow really quick on that side of the island.

The boat is a 21' Bennington kept at Portland Riverside Marina. I'm between the Malibu ski boat and another pontoon.
PECo

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds like a big boat. Is it a tri-toon with a 250 on it? Fishing along the river tends to be better in coves and other sheltered areas. In the main river, you have to look for grass flats and other green weedy areas that hold fish.