CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing Reports
Viewing Topic: Effective plastic lures and techniques for bass fishing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
davidjones82

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 10:52 am    Post subject: Effective plastic lures and techniques for bass fishing Reply with quote

What are effective plastic lures and techniques for bass fishing? I am a newbie when it comes to bass fishing, because I never really targetted them, but I do know fishing in general. So any tips for the intermediate fisher would be helpful.Thanks.

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wacky rigged senko, basically can use any hook you want.

Or weightless texas rigged senko with a wide-gap hook, this is my personal favorite, wacky is tough to throw into cover sometimes because it gets hung up with the exposed hook.

Shakey head jig with a powerbait shakey worm is another of my favorites. Basically can put any plastic on a skakey head though, I use a craw a lot too.

The last one I use the most is a texas rigged brush hog/any creature bait, with a bullet weight.

Hope this helps ya. How you can fish plastics is basically infinite so have fun with it just find what you like the best.
MANIMAL

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also.....tubes!

I rig Mister Twister tubes on a tube jighead and it works real well
pdcrack

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nate is spot on with his post.

I also really like using jigs with a craw trailer with a medium heavy rod, and usually 12-20 lb flourocarbon
pdcrack

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another trick with the wacky rig...
use a small O-ring and slide it to the middle of the senko/stick bait. Then you can put a small circle hook between the bait and the O-ring. This makes your baits last longer without tearing or ripping in half.